Book Summary – Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff


My bullet-summary of Richard Carlson – Don’t sweat the small stuff [1996]

Gratefulness & perspective

  • Peacefulness = accepting imperfections.
  • Life isn’t an emergency (concentrate on my values).
  • My in-basket will never be empty. Nor it will be empty when I die…
  • Purpose of life: NOT getting all thing done, but ENJOYING each step along the way and live a life filled with love.
  • Don’t interrupt others. Be a listener. Communicate.
  • Become extremely patient: nothing can bother me.
  • Ask myself: “will this make a difference a year from now?” (perspective)
  • Life ISN’T fair: ACCEPT IT –> do MY BEST with what I have and try to improve.
  • Allow myself to be bored (few mins/day), to do nothing –> I’ll relax.
  • Write a heartfelt letter to someone once a week: express love and gratitude.
  • Choose my battles WISELY + accept imperfections.
  • Don’t have everything perfect, don’t fight/argue on small stuff.
  • “This too shall pass”: everything changes, it’s just a matter of when! –> be grateful for what you have BEFORE it’ll go away: maintain my perspective!
  • Be kind more than insisting on being right.
  • In doubt, it’s my turn to take out the garbage. I won’t be taken advantage of.
  • Say something nice to someone (praise) at least once a day.
  • Find the BEAUTY in EVERY situation.
  • Don’t criticize and if I do, do it with style…
  • Be grateful when I feel good. And when I feel bad: accept it because those bad feelings too shall pass!
  • Concentrate on what we have, not only on what we want: think positive, be grateful.
  • You’ll become what you practice –> BECOME AWARE and pay attention to what you practice!
  • It’s ok not to be perfect: you make mistakes and it’s ok. You’ll do better next time. Have no regrets: stay calm!
  • Have “my time” with no one to bother me, every day.
  • In a 100 yrs, all new people…
  • Nurture a plan: love unconditionally.
  • Do small things, without wanting anything in return.
  • Don’t always try to solve others’ problems.
  • Give love more than wanting to receive it.
  • Ask yourself “What’s REALLY important?”
  • Mind my own business (don’t judge).
  • Look for the EXTRAORDINARY in the ordinary. We see what we want to see in reality. Be GRATEFUL!
  • Live this day as if it was my last, it might be. My to-do list will never be empty.
  • Life is PRECIOUS. LIFE IS TOO IMPORTANT TOO TAKE TOO SERIOUSLY.
  • Don’t sweat the small stuff… And it’s all small stuff!
Leave a Reply

