Book Summary – As a Man Thinketh


My brief bullet-summary of James Allen – As a Man Thinketh [1902]

  • The man is always the master of his condition.
  • As a man thinks in his heart, so he is. As he continues to think, so he remains.
  • Only by patience, practice, and ceaseless importunity can a man enter the door of the temple of knowledge.
  • A man’s mind is like a garden, you decide what you grow. What you think is what you grow, and what you grow is what you’ll get…!
  • Man commands his destiny and reality through thoughts.
  • Circumstances are means, they don’t make the man; they just reveal how the man is to himself.
  • Men don’t attract what they want, but what they are –> be what you want first (act as if…)!
  • I can improve my circumstances only by improving myself: be blessed and think positively about reaching my goals.
  • I can’t control circumstances, but I can control my thoughts which can ultimately bring about the corresponding positive (or negative) circumstances –> think only on what I want!
  • Have happy thoughts to be healthy in body and spirit! The body serves the mind! (lose weight: eat healthy, eat less, exercise, think positively)
  • Never accuse events or people, just do something about them.
  • Set a legitimate purpose in my life and make it my supreme duty and devote myself to its attainment. Have strength of character to overcome any obstacle and drawback.
  • Think only on my purpose, have the power and energy to achieve it.
  • He who has conquered doubt and fear has conquered failure.
  • Achieve much by sacrificing much. E.g. I’m sick: to heal, think positively –> I’ll get better; and ACT on getting better as well!
  • The dreamers are the saviours of the world (e.g. Columbus) –> Dream, and dream BIG (as Donald Trump says)!
  • I’ll become as small as my controlling desire, and as great as my dominant aspiration.
  • To desire is to obtain. To aspire is to achieve.
  • Have a great vision (not just a wish), and you’ll achieve it…
  • Be a MASTER of my mind. Become one with my ideals.
  • Serenity: have peace of mind. Have courage, self-reliance, and decision. Be a strong, calm, serene man. Achieve serenity by understanding others, life, compassion, love…
  • You are what you think about most of the time.
Leave a Reply

